Bully

I have arguments with my heart

It pounds on the walls of my chest

Trying to tell me something in morse code

I try not to listen to its rhythms

I drown out the sound for a fleeting moment

But it’s back to its obnoxious ways

Thump, thump, thump, thump

I cannot make out morse code

But I think it is trying to spell out your name

It is true what they say

It is a matter of head versus heart

But my heart manipulates my head

And has got it into thinking that it is useless

It thinks it has won this fight

But in fact it has lost

And has too much pride to state its defeat

So now I think I must get used to

The way my heart behaves

Bullying all of my other organs

And throwing childish tantrums

When it does not get what it wants

Leave a Reply

