This Dance

 

Our conversations

are words

That fall out of our mouths

And stumble into the air

And turn into songs

That we have never heard

The melodies are

Unfamiliar

The lyrics unknown

But we move our bodies

And dance to the tune

Of our miscommunications

Losing ourselves in the rhythms

Of confusion

For I am not too weak

To keep up with the fast riffs

And the music notes of your heart

Were not too loud for my ears

And your dance, your movements

Were not too fast for my legs

Because all along

I danced to the same tune you did

And I sung the same songs you did

I was just too weak to admit

That when I dance and sing

In front of the mirror

I see your reflection

Looking back at me

Leave a Reply

