Sunday Morning

I wake up early Sunday morning

Rub the sleep from my eyes

See the sunshine coming through

The leaves on the big tree

Outside our window

After a night of heavy rain

I look at the cat

Sleeping in the crease of our bed

And then I look at you

The sun shadowing your face

With the reflection of the leaves

There is something about

The quietness of morning

Before everyone else

Awakes from their

Oblivious slumbers

That makes me feel light

I slip back under the covers

Curl myself into you

And fall back to sleep

Leave a Reply

