Intact

There are moments I spent with you

That will be seared into my memory

Like the tattoos on my arms

Like the first time we met

And it felt like I was struck by lightening but in a good way

And then there was that time

We were sitting on your lounge room floor

Listening to records and you said,

“You make me feel like I’m in a Salvador Dali painting”

And everything with you has felt surreal since then

There was also that sunday morning breakfast

Coffee and carrot cake

You asked me to sit close, my hand on your thigh

We read E. E. Cumming’s poems

Like they were sacred whispers only writte for you and I

And there was that time when you said

You felt most safe when I was holding you

And you never realised

You were the only thing keeping me intact

Leave a Reply

