There Is

There’s only so many times I can lie on my parent’s floor

Sobbing as I watch them watch me

Through my blood shot eyes with pity

And even the dog knows as she hurries to lick my tears away

So they don’t stain the beige carpet

There’s only so many times I can sedate myself

With drugs, alcohol, sex and other useless distractions

Until my lack of serotonin becomes immune to my reckless behaviour

There’s only so many times I can attempt to explain

What depression is like to someone who has never experienced it first hand

But it’s like talking to them underwater in a pool

As they just sit on the edge dipping their feet in to feel the temperature

And all they hear are gurgles

And if one more person tells me not to wallow

I will pull them underwater with me

And I am sure as hell they’ll understand me then

Leave a Reply

