Again

I’ve never had much of a stomach for this life

I try to love it and in transient moments

I think I do, but I just don’t notice it

I am always cowering and I cannot hold onto things long enough

Before they turn to ash

Which I keep in little glass jars that I hoard in my bedroom 

Because I find it hard to let things go

Grief sits heavily on my back

I’m starting to develop a hunch and I can’t stand straight

How am I going to endure this?

Life is like an abusive partner that you cannot break up with

Unless you kill yourself before it kills you

But on Tuesday afternoon I walked home in a sun shower 

With Bob Dylan in my ears and I thought yes

Yes, I will take you

I will love you again

Leave a Reply

