Scout

A stray cat showed up to my door one afternoon

She was so feeble and scruffy

And she had these big hazel eyes

That stared right into the core of my soul

You could see her ribs and she struggled

To walk up three flights of stairs

And I would just sit on the deck with her at night

And she’d just watch me think too much about

The existential chaos that perturbs my brain

And I felt less alone with her there because I could see her struggling

Her breathing was off but so was mine and

I felt an affinity with this cat

I could see myself in her

Later, I found out she lived down the road

But the owners went on holidays for six weeks

And she was craving food and affection

So I spent my last seven dollars on cat food

And wrapped her in a towel because she was so frail

I couldn’t even stand looking at her

I thought she was ill

Turns out she was just aged

She was twenty-one years old

The average lifespan of a cat is twelve to eighteen years

And I thought that was impressive

I found out her name was Scout

Her owners are back home now so she doesn’t come around anymore

But at least I know she’s still kickin’ on

And I’ve never been a cat person

Leave a Reply

